Current conclusions

I met with the captain of NYPD Transit 2 today after work.  He assured me that they take these crimes very seriously.  He also ran me through what would be happening now that an investigation has been opened.  (I should add that it was erroneously initially reported as harassment.  The charges were upgraded to unlawful surveillance.)  I was also told that he personally reaches out to victims of these types of situations whenever they happen; in other words, he was telling me that he was not talking to me as a direct response to this blog.  I appreciated that he called me into meet with him, although I can’t shake the sense that much of it was damage control.

I felt a little bit like he was talking at me (rather than with me) but he did pause to ask me if I had any questions, and for the most part let me voice my concerns.  I think I had more comments than questions and I was able to relate most of them.  I feel like we had as open of a conversation as he was able and willing to have as a commanding officer in his position.  And I do think he seemed to lean in the direction of agreeing with me on certain points.  No outright apology was made but I do sense he acknowledged that not everything went according to training and protocol.

At this point I can’t say that I am satisfied per se, but I do feel that this chapter is coming to a close.  My dual primary concerns have been addressed and like I said a few posts ago, I have made my point and I have been heard. I appreciate the outpouring of support and encouragement I have received in the past few days.  I’m sorry that something similar or worse has happened to so many of you.  Thanks to my family and friends who have been outraged with me, as well as patient.  Thank you for reading and for understanding.  If you didn’t understand, thank you for trying to understand.

Hopefully this perv gets caught soon.  I will definitely update if he has.  I will also update if things suddenly take some kind of unexpected turn and assurances that were made to me are not fulfilled.

A final thought: ladies (and gentleman), please report these crimes.  Please take the time to report them and hold those who are in charge of putting a stop to these crimes to a high standard of appropriate response and reaction.  Please demand that all complainants be treated with dignity and respect — regardless of who they are, or what they look like, or where they come from.  Please expect more from our civic servants and please do more for each other.  I wouldn’t have been able to do any of this without my witness to alert me and to stay with me to help.  I certainly wouldn’t have been able to do this without my coworkers listening to me and empowering me to not settle for the treatment I received.

And lastly, please don’t think you can target me and get away with it.  I will hold you accountable.

Leave a Reply

